GENE is governed by a Board composed of participating agencies, selected by GENE participating Agencies and Ministries.

The current Board comprises:

Prof. Dr. Annette Scheunpflug (GENE Chair)

Ms. Florence Depierreux (ENABEL, Belgium)

Ms. Sabine Seiffert (Engagement Global, Germany)

Mr. Charles Zammit (Education Malta, Malta)

The work of the GENE Secretariat is facilitated by:

Mr. Liam Wegimont, Director (Dublin)

Ms. Ditta Trindade Dolejsiova, Support & Innovation (Bratislava)

Ms. Jo McAuley, Peer Reviews & Policy Research (Stockholm)

Ms. Ana Larcher, Communications & Liaison with ANGEL (Lisbon)

Ms. Katarina Kovacova, Assistant to the Secretariat (Bratislava)

Ms. Lidia Labbaci, Office Manager (Florence)

Ms. Debbie Brennan, Accounts (Dublin)

Ms. Barbara Treacy, Office Assistant (Dublin)


Global Education Network Europe (GENE)

13 Herbert Place

Dublin 2




E-mail: secretariat[at]


Find us on social media

Global Education Network Europe (GENE) receives funding from the European Union. The contents of this website are the sole responsibility of GENE and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Union.